Bendsneyder 13th at COTA

Fighting to the last meter on the Circuit of the Americas earned Bo Bendsneyder three points. NTS RW Racing GP teammate Jesko Raffin finished in sixteenth and thus just missed points. The Swiss rode a rather lonely race, with a big gap in front of him and behind him. Raffin was faster but failed to pass Pawi in the first part of the race. When that was finally achieved halfway through the race, the group in front – containing Bendsneyder – was too far away and Raffin could only hope that someone would crash to have a chance of gaining a point. Bendsneyder was also locked up for a long time. When he passed Aegerter to take fifteenth place, he was able to close the three-second gap to a group with Gardner, Nagashima and Martin in just two laps. Due to a crash from Lecuona, the Dutchman moved up to p14. In the final lap he saw his chance and put Martin aside to secure thirteenth place and three points.

Bo Bendsneyder (13 at +26.997): “My start was not so good, but I was already back in my own position, around sixteenth, in the first corner. In the first round I had to avoid some crashes, but I didn’t lose much with that. Together with Aegerter I was able to ride a good pace and together we were able to close in on the group that fought for eleventh place. On the straight we lost a little too much to get to that eleventh, twelfth place, but in the last lap I was still able to take thirteenth place. I have nothing to complain about. I am happy with the race, happy with the points and happy with how the weekend went. We have proven again that we really belong in the points.”

Race results:

Pos Rider Team Time / Gap
1 Thomas LUTHI Dynavolt Intact GP 39’11.508
2 Marcel SCHROTTER Dynavolt Intact GP 2.532
3 Jorge NAVARRO Beta Tools Speed Up 3.836
4 Mattia PASINI Flexbox HP 40 4.757
5 Alex MARQUEZ EG 0,0 Marc VDS 7.741
6 Luca MARINI SKY Racing Team VR46 8.031
7 Sam LOWES Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 8.282
8 Simone CORSI Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2 8.953
9 Enea BASTIANINI Italtrans Racing Team 10.706
10 Andrea LOCATELLI Italtrans Racing Team 16.868
12 Tetsuta NAGASHIMA ONEXOX TKKR SAG Team 25.948
13 Bo BENDSNEYDER NTS RW Racing GP 26.997
14 Dominique AEGERTER MV Agusta Idealavoro Forward 27.462
15 Jorge MARTIN Red Bull KTM Ajo 27.482
16 Jesko RAFFIN NTS RW Racing GP 39.435
17 Khairul Idham PAWI Petronas Sprinta Racing 49.582
18 Philipp OETTL Red Bull KTM Tech 3 51.247
19 Lukas TULOVIC Kiefer Racing 51.380
20 Somkiat CHANTRA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia 53.778
21 Gabriele RUIU MV Agusta Idealavoro Forward +1’19.156
22 Dimas EKKY PRATAMA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia +1’19.286
Not Classified
Iker LECUONA American Racing KTM 5 Laps
Marco BEZZECCHI Red Bull KTM Tech 3 6 Laps
Xavi CARDELUS Sama Qatar Angel Nieto Team 12 Laps
Brad BINDER Red Bull KTM Ajo 16 Laps
Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO Beta Tools Speed Up 0 Lap
Lorenzo BALDASSARRI Flexbox HP 40 0 Lap
Xavi VIERGE EG 0,0 Marc VDS 0 Lap
Joe ROBERTS American Racing KTM 0 Lap


Related posts