Good start Bendsneyder not rewarded

Bo Bendsneyder and Steven Odendaal worked themselves into a sweat on the Silverstone circuit, but that was not rewarded with points. The riders of NTS RW Racing GP finished the Moto2 race of the British Grand Prix as 21st and 25th respectively. They were far from satisfied with that result. The circumstances in England were extreme and tough. It had not been hotter than this – an air temperature of 32 degrees Celsius – the entire weekend. In fact, in the entire season it hadn’t been this hot as during the Moto2 race at Silverstone. Sunday afternoon it was 4 degrees warmer than Saturday afternoon and even 8 degrees warmer than Friday afternoon in FP2 and Sunday morning during the warm-up. Although the circumstances are the same for everyone, the question was how the different machines – this year equipped with Triumph engines for the first time – in combination with the tires and the new asphalt would react in a race of eighteen laps at those high temperatures. Bendsneyder started the race well, with a good start and a solid first lap. In the second lap however, he made a mistake, causing him to lose more than a second on the riders around him. He could not make up for that loss in the course of the race, so he finished in the same place where he had started: 21st. Odendaal also won a number of places at the start but he soon lost connection with a group and thus rode a stable but also quite lonely race, that resulted in 25th place.

Bo Bendsneyder (21 at +23.906): “The start was good this time, the first lap too, but after that I made a mistake. I wanted too much, was too eager and ran wide, and that allowed a few others to pass. Unfortunately. I am certainly not satisfied.”

Race results:

Pos Rider Team Time / Gap
1 Augusto FERNANDEZ FLEXBOX HP 40 37’41.833
2 Jorge NAVARRO Campetella Speed Up 0.489
3 Brad BINDER Red Bull KTM Ajo 0.571
6 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO Campetella Speed Up 9.065
8 Thomas LUTHI Dynavolt Intact GP 9.355
9 Luca MARINI SKY Racing Team VR46 13.119
10 Xavi VIERGE EG 0,0 Marc VDS 13.753
11 Iker LECUONA American Racing KTM 16.326
12 Jorge MARTIN Red Bull KTM Ajo 16.382
13 Mattia PASINI Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2 16.829
14 Marcel SCHROTTER Dynavolt Intact GP 17.843
15 Andrea LOCATELLI Italtrans Racing Team 19.836
16 Somkiat CHANTRA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia 20.920
17 Stefano MANZI MV Agusta Temporary Forward 21.159
18 Dominique AEGERTER MV Agusta Temporary Forward 22.746
19 Marco BEZZECCHI Red Bull KTM Tech 3 23.366
20 Nicolo BULEGA SKY Racing Team VR46 23.707
21 Bo BENDSNEYDER NTS RW Racing GP 23.906
22 Joe ROBERTS American Racing KTM 28.918
23 Jake DIXON Sama Qatar Angel Nieto Team 31.491
24 Philipp OETTL Red Bull KTM Tech 3 40.541
25 Steven ODENDAAL NTS RW Racing GP 47.477
26 Lukas TULOVIC Kiefer Racing 53.613
27 Xavi CARDELUS Sama Qatar Angel Nieto Team 57.669
28 Teppei NAGOE IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia 59.780
Not Classified
Sam LOWES Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 1 Lap
Bradley SMITH Petronas Sprinta Racing 10 Laps
Alex MARQUEZ EG 0,0 Marc VDS 13 Laps


Related posts