Disappointing first day for Bendsneyder in Misano

Simone Corsi made an impressive debut today at NTS RW Racing GP on the Misano circuit. The Italian finished the first day of the GP of San Marino and Riviera di Rimini in 21st place in the combined standings. Teammate Bo Bendsneyder finished the day in 26th. Corsi was more than a second faster in the second free practice than in the first session. In the first practice he made it to 1.40.477. Bendsneyder was slightly faster with 1.39.935. In the afternoon the roles were reversed and Corsi set the twentieth time with 1.39.225. Bendsneyder was a little behind with 1.39.772. Corsi knows the track like the back of his hand, but has only been on the NTS once before, during a test in Austria. At Misano – the circuit where he made his Grand Prix debut in 2001 – the 32-year-old Italian replaces Steven Odendaal, who split with NTS RW Racing GP after Silverstone. “Simone brings a new impulse to the box,” commented NTS RW Racing GP team manager Jarno Janssen. “On his first day on this motorcycle, he is at less than a second from the top: that’s great. He does indicate that he wants a number of things differently about the machine and we too learn from that. On the other side of the box, with Bo, there is more work to do. He is slightly behind. The times are ok in most sectors, but in sector 2 he loses too much.”

Bo Bendsneyder: “In FP1 I had a good feeling with the hard tyre, but in FP2 we were unable to make a step. It was not a great day and that is why I am happy that Corsi is here. Now we can see and compare where he is faster and what he does differently. I think we can only benefit from that.”

Results FP2:

Pos Rider Team Fastest lap
1 Augusto FERNANDEZ FLEXBOX HP 40 1’38.325
2 Alex MARQUEZ EG 0,0 Marc VDS 1’38.374
3 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO Ego Speed Up 1’38.463
4 Tetsuta NAGASHIMA ONEXOX TKKR SAG Team 1’38.473
5 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI FLEXBOX HP 40 1’38.494
6 Luca MARINI SKY Racing Team VR46 1’38.541
7 Enea BASTIANINI Italtrans Racing Team 1’38.567
8 Remy GARDNER ONEXOX TKKR SAG Team 1’38.591
9 Sam LOWES Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 1’38.637
10 Nicolo BULEGA SKY Racing Team VR46 1’38.708
11 Mattia PASINI Tasca Racing Scuderia Moto2 1’38.723
12 Iker LECUONA American Racing KTM 1’38.752
13 Thomas LUTHI Dynavolt Intact GP 1’38.874
14 Xavi VIERGE EG 0,0 Marc VDS 1’38.946
15 Jorge MARTIN Red Bull KTM Ajo 1’38.956
16 Marcel SCHROTTER Dynavolt Intact GP 1’38.965
17 Somkiat CHANTRA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia 1’39.001
18 Jorge NAVARRO Ego Speed Up 1’39.084
19 Andrea LOCATELLI Italtrans Racing Team 1’39.211
20 Simone CORSI NTS RW Racing GP 1’39.225
21 Stefano MANZI MV Agusta Temporary Forward 1’39.267
22 Brad BINDER Red Bull KTM Ajo 1’39.279
23 Dominique AEGERTER MV Agusta Temporary Forward 1’39.290
24 Bo BENDSNEYDER NTS RW Racing GP 1’39.772
25 Joe ROBERTS American Racing KTM 1’39.897
26 Lukas TULOVIC Kiefer Racing 1’40.009
27 Philipp OETTL Red Bull KTM Tech 3 1’40.144
28 Jake DIXON Sama Qatar Angel Nieto Team 1’40.151
29 Adam NORRODIN Petronas Sprinta Racing 1’41.032
30 Xavi CARDELUS Sama Qatar Angel Nieto Team 1’41.671
31 Andi Farid IZDIHAR Honda Team Asia 1’42.796
32 Marco BEZZECCHI Red Bull KTM Tech 3

Source: motogp.com, rwracinggp.com

Related posts