Bendsneyder just outside the points

For a long time it looked very good for Bo Bendsneyder. The rider of NTS RW Racing GP could battle for the points in the GP of Teruel. However, a lack of top speed on the Motorland Aragon straight, meant that he ended up just missing the points, in 16th place. Teammate Piotr Biesiekirski took 23rd place. It was an exciting battle that Bo Bendsneyder fought in a group with, among others, Marini, Roberts, Vierge, Manzi, Syarhin and Corsi, to whom the Dutchman was definitely not inferior. He fought fiercely and sought the limit, even in a way that he could barely avoid a crash in lap 10. The only problem was the straight in the last sector of Motorland Aragon, where Bendsneyder faced a lack of top speed. For the rest of the lap, he could catch up, sometimes by more than half a second per lap, and attack, but on the straight his gain was wiped out and others could pass from the slipstream or open up a small gap. Bendsneyder finished 16th at 27.404 behind race winner Sam Lowes.

Bo Bendsneyder: “The first part was good, because I always had a little space behind me before the straight. That space was needed to prevent the others from passing me from the slipstream. After I almost hit a highsider, a few guys were able to get closer behind me, allowing them to pass me on the straight. The feeling was good, the bike was great, but today it was very clear that we lack some top speed. It’s a shame that I just missed the points, but I am proud of myself and especially of my team – my crew chief, the data man, the mechanics who made sure that the bike was really good this weekend – because we have shown what we are capable of.”


Race results:

Pos Rider Team Time / Gap
1 Sam LOWES EG 0,0 Marc VDS 39’27.645
2 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO Lightech Speed Up 8.425
3 Enea BASTIANINI Italtrans Racing Team 10.871
4 Remy GARDNER Onexox TKKR SAG Team 12.657
5 Jorge NAVARRO Lightech Speed Up 13.006
6 Jorge MARTIN Red Bull KTM Ajo 14.766
7 Jake DIXON Petronas Sprinta Racing 16.905
8 Augusto FERNANDEZ EG 0,0 Marc VDS 17.027
9 Marcos RAMIREZ Tennor American Racing 21.888
10 Joe ROBERTS Tennor American Racing 22.951
11 Luca MARINI SKY Racing Team VR46 24.969
12 Xavi VIERGE Petronas Sprinta Racing 26.206
13 Hafizh SYAHRIN Kipin Energy Aspar Team Moto2 26.317
14 Tetsuta NAGASHIMA Red Bull KTM Ajo 26.685
15 Simone CORSI MV Agusta Forward Racing 26.899
16 Bo BENDSNEYDER NTS RW Racing GP 27.404
17 Nicolò BULEGA Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 30.319
18 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA Italtrans Racing Team 30.707
19 Somkiat CHANTRA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia 30.980
20 Marcel SCHROTTER Liqui Moly Intact GP 31.501
21 Andi Farid IZDIHAR IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia 47.953
22 Xavi CARDELUS Kipin Energy Aspar Team Moto2 48.375
23 Piotr BIESIEKIRSKI NTS RW Racing GP +1’00.394
Not classified
Stefano MANZI MV Agusta Forward Racing 1 Lap
Edgar PONS Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 2 Laps
Lorenzo BALDASSARRI Flexbox HP 40 6 Laps
Hector GARZO Flexbox HP 40 11 Laps
Marco BEZZECCHI SKY Racing Team VR46 18 Laps
Thomas LUTHI Liqui Moly Intact GP 0 Lap
Kasma DANIEL Onexox TKKR SAG Team 0 Lap


Related posts