Interesting first day in Portugal

Bo Bendsneyder and Dominique Aegerter started well at the Grand Prix of Portugal with respectively seventeenth and eighteenth time. On the challenging Portimao circuit, both riders of NTS RW Racing GP were in or close to the top 15 for most of the time. Aegerter and Bendsneyder started the day in Portimao by exploring the circuit together. In the extra long first free practice, Aegerter had to get used to the NTS and the circuit, where the Moto2 has never raced before. Bendsneyder adapted quickly to the circuit where he last rode in Moto3, six years ago, and ended FP1 in twelfth. In the second practice, it was soon clear that both the Swiss and the Dutchman had got the hang of it. With his 1.43.662 Aegerter was in the top 10 for a while, but eventually he ended up in 18th place, 0.721 of the fastest time. Bendsneyder also came close to the top 10, but in the end dropped from thirteenth to seventeenth place with his fastest time of 1.43.634, at 0.693.

Bo Bendsneyder: “It’s a really nice track. I used to ride here before, but with the Moto2 machine and new asphalt it feels like a completely new track. All in all, it was a good day: this morning twelfth, this afternoon seventeenth. We weren’t even looking for a very fast time yet today, but my pace is so good that I was able to ride my fastest time a few laps in a row. That is really promising for tomorrow.”


Results FP2:

Pos Rider Team Fastest lap
1 Luca MARINI SKY Racing Team VR46 1’42.941
2 Sam LOWES EG 0,0 Marc VDS 1’43.123
3 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI Flexbox HP 40 1’43.139
4 Remy GARDNER Onexox TKKR SAG Team 1’43.222
5 Enea BASTIANINI Italtrans Racing Team 1’43.257
6 Xavi VIERGE Petronas Sprinta Racing 1’43.314
7 Jorge NAVARRO BETA Tools Speed Up 1’43.358
8 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO BETA Tools Speed Up 1’43.381
9 Marco BEZZECCHI SKY Racing Team VR46 1’43.402
10 Hector GARZO Flexbox HP 40 1’43.414
11 Augusto FERNANDEZ EG 0,0 Marc VDS 1’43.422
12 Nicolò BULEGA Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 1’43.488
13 Stefano MANZI MV Agusta Forward Racing 1’43.516
14 Marcos RAMIREZ Tennor American Racing 1’43.559
15 Thomas LUTHI Liqui Moly Intact GP 1’43.597
16 Tetsuta NAGASHIMA Red Bull KTM Ajo 1’43.598
17 Bo BENDSNEYDER NTS RW Racing GP 1’43.634
18 Dominique AEGERTER NTS RW Racing GP 1’43.662
19 Aron CANET Pull&Bear Aspar Team Moto2 1’43.748
20 Joe ROBERTS Tennor American Racing 1’43.756
21 Somkiat CHANTRA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia 1’44.022
22 Edgar PONS Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 1’44.293
23 Marcel SCHROTTER Liqui Moly Intact GP 1’44.491
24 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA Italtrans Racing Team 1’44.745
25 Hafizh SYAHRIN Pull&Bear Aspar Team Moto2 1’44.859
26 Kasma DANIEL Onexox TKKR SAG Team 1’44.980
27 Andi Farid IZDIHAR IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia 1’45.230
28 Simone CORSI MV Agusta Forward Racing 1’45.389
29 Jorge MARTIN Red Bull KTM Ajo


Related posts