Unforgiving restart for Bendsneyder

After Bo Bendsneyder’s eleventh place in Qatar, NTS RW Racing GP had imagined the restart of the 2020 season differently. Bo Bendsneyder and Jesko Raffin struggled in the scorching conditions at the Jerez circuit. Both ended the GP of Spain without points: Bendsneyder crashed in lap 8, Raffin crossed the finish line in 21st. It was already clear that it would be a difficult race. The heat in southern Spain at this time of year is not in favour of the NTS. Because normally Moto2 is never in Jerez in this heat, there was little information beforehand. Partly due to the development stop as a result of the corona crisis, the team was barely able to respond to the circumstances. A large package of new parts is ready in Japan, but the team is not allowed to use it. In the practices there is little time to try all kinds of things with the settings. As a result, Bo Bendsneyder had to start the second race of the significantly shortened season from 22nd place, and Jesko Raffin from 29th place. In the first lap, Bendsneyder lost a few places. He had problems with the front of the machine all weekend and the weight of the full tank did not help. At the back of a group of about ten, he was able to return to his starting position but in his attempts to stay with the group, in turn 9 he lost the front.
Raffin was able to finish the race. The Swiss ended in 21st place to collect valuable data that the team can use to see if it can be better prepared for the next race, also at the Jerez circuit next weekend already.

Bo Bendsneyder – DNF: “I had little feeling on the front all weekend. I tried to join the group, but lacked speed. I did everything I could to follow and in doing so I lost the front in turn 9. A disappointing end to a difficult weekend. Fortunately, we have a new chance next week.”

Race results:

Pos Rider Team Time / Gap
1 Luca MARINI SKY Racing Team VR46 39’23.297
2 Tetsuta NAGASHIMA Red Bull KTM Ajo 1.271
3 Jorge MARTIN Red Bull KTM Ajo 4.838
4 Sam LOWES EG 0,0 Marc VDS 6.200
5 Aron CANET Inde Aspar Team Moto2 10.794
6 Hafizh SYAHRIN Inde Aspar Team Moto2 15.578
7 Remy GARDNER Onexox TKKR SAG Team 17.426
8 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI Flexbox HP 40 19.416
9 Enea BASTIANINI Italtrans Racing Team 19.505
10 Xavi VIERGE Petronas Sprinta Racing 19.590
11 Stefano MANZI MV Agusta Forward Racing 21.269
12 Hector GARZO Flexbox HP 40 21.405
13 Augusto FERNANDEZ EG 0,0 Marc VDS 24.550
14 Nicolo BULEGA Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 26.232
15 Simone CORSI MV Agusta Forward Racing 27.303
16 Edgar PONS Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 32.566
17 Joe ROBERTS Tennor American Racing 33.951
18 Jake DIXON Petronas Sprinta Racing 36.432
19 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA Italtrans Racing Team 43.699
20 Andi Farid IZDIHAR IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia 43.889
21 Jesko RAFFIN NTS RW Racing GP +1’02.884
22 Kasma DANIEL Onexox TKKR SAG Team +1’09.455
23 Marcos RAMIREZ Tennor American Racing 1 Lap
Not Classified
Thomas LUTHI Liqui Moly Intact GP 3 Laps
Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO HDR Heidrun Speed Up 7 Laps
Marcel SCHROTTER Liqui Moly Intact GP 16 Laps
Marco BEZZECCHI SKY Racing Team VR46 17 Laps
Somkiat CHANTRA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia 18 Laps
Jorge NAVARRO HDR Heidrun Speed Up 0 Lap

Source: motogp.com, rwracinggp.com

Related posts