DNF for Bendsneyder in Portimao

Bo Bendsneyder worked together with his team during the morning warm up to try to regain a good feeling with his Kalex. The Dutch rider found improvements and managed to lower his laptime achieved in the qualifying session by up to one second. Starting from 26th position on the grid, Bo did his best to try to gain positions. Unfortunately, he suffered a crash in turn 5 of the Autódromo Internacional do Algarve with 16 laps to go.

#64 Bo Bendsneyder – DNF –

“It has been a difficult weekend but I’m really happy that we found the good direction during the warm up. It was quite late but the team did a great job to give me back the feeling. I was one second faster in the warm up than in the qualifying so this was nice. In the race, the conditions were a little bit tricky. There were a lot of crashes. It’s difficult when you need to come from the 26th place on the grid but I gave it all and I tried my best. With the full tank we didn’t try it at all because this morning was important to find the base. I lost the front giving all my best. I want to say thanks to the team. We need to look forward to Jerez and learn from this weekend.”


Race results:

Pos Rider Team Time / Gap
1 Raul FERNANDEZ Red Bull KTM Ajo 39’47.377
2 Aron CANET Solunion Aspar Team 1.600
3 Remy GARDNER Red Bull KTM Ajo 1.968
4 Joe ROBERTS Italtrans Racing Team 2.397
5 Augusto FERNANDEZ Elf Marc VDS Racing Team 5.622
6 Marco BEZZECCHI SKY Racing Team VR46 6.344
7 Xavi VIERGE Petronas Sprinta Racing 7.360
8 Hector GARZO Flexbox HP40 12.540
9 Cameron BEAUBIER American Racing 14.989
10 Marcel SCHROTTER Liqui Moly Intact GP 15.240
11 Fabio DI GIANNANTONIO Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 15.521
12 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA Italtrans Racing Team 15.667
13 Albert ARENAS Solunion Aspar Team 19.513
14 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI MV Agusta Forward Racing 23.147
15 Marcos RAMIREZ American Racing 23.494
16 Tony ARBOLINO Liqui Moly Intact GP 23.639
17 Thomas LUTHI Pertamina Mandalika SAG Team 27.470
18 Hafizh SYAHRIN NTS RW Racing GP 56.999
19 Miquel PONS MV Agusta Forward Racing +1’00.417
20 Fraser ROGERS NTS RW Racing GP +1’21.966
21 Somkiat CHANTRA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia +1’25.160
22 Jorge NAVARRO Lightech Speed Up 3 Laps
Not classified
Jake DIXON Petronas Sprinta Racing 9 Laps
Celestino VIETTI SKY Racing Team VR46 12 Laps
Nicolò BULEGA Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 12 Laps
Bo BENDSNEYDER Pertamina Mandalika SAG Team 16 Laps
Ai OGURA IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia 19 Laps
Yari MONTELLA Lightech Speed Up 20 Laps
Stefano MANZI Flexbox HP40 20 Laps
Sam LOWES Elf Marc VDS Racing Team 0 Lap

Source: motogp.com, stopandgo.es

Related posts